Huntsman Mental Health Institute says its program placed licensed social workers in primary care and shortened average referral-to-appointment waits.
Program expansion described by source
Huntsman Mental Health Institute says its Behavioral Health Integration Program embeds licensed social workers in primary care settings. According to the institute’s source extract, the program expanded from five clinics to more than 15 clinics.
The extract identifies licensed social workers as the professionals embedded through the program. It does not provide further detail on the services they deliver, the primary care settings involved, or how patients enter the program.
Referral-to-appointment timing
Huntsman Mental Health Institute reports that traditional outpatient mental health care had a wait time of 74 days. The institute says its program reduced that timing to an average of 10 days from referral to appointment.
The source describes this as a comparison between traditional outpatient mental health care and the program’s referral-to-appointment average. The extract does not specify the time period used for the comparison, the number of patients included, or whether wait times varied among participating clinics.
What the source does and does not cover
According to Huntsman Mental Health Institute, the program’s growth involved an increase from five to more than 15 clinics. The source extract does not name the participating clinics or identify their locations.
The extract also does not describe eligibility requirements, insurance coverage, costs, referral procedures, appointment availability, or which mental health conditions may be addressed through the embedded social-worker model. It does not state whether the program includes TMS therapy.
Huntsman Mental Health Institute’s statement focuses on behavioral health integration in primary care and the reported change in waiting time from referral to appointment. The source does not provide information about treatment outcomes or individual patient experiences.
What this means for Utah patients
For Utah residents looking for mental health treatment locally, Huntsman Mental Health Institute’s report points to an approach that places licensed social workers within primary care and reports shorter referral-to-appointment timing. The directory lists 96 published clinics in Utah, which may help patients identify local treatment options and ask providers about available services.
This is general information, not medical advice.
More Utah reporting on access & coverage.
This report is educational and is not medical advice. Coverage, availability and eligibility can change; verify details with the named source or your care team.

